Representatives from the architectural regulatory authorities of Canada and European Union signed a Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) today, giving architects opportunities to work across the Atlantic.

The Canadian Architectural Licensing Authorities (CALA) and the Architects’ Council of Europe (ACE) have confirmed the ACE-CALA Mutual Recognition Agreement for the Practice of Architecture among member states in the European Union and Canada. The agreement comes into force in 2019.

The Honourable Patty Hajdu, the federal Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour, stated: “International experience is an important asset in today’s global economy. With the signing of a Mutual Recognition Agreement, more architects from countries under the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement between Canada and the European Union are now able to share their knowledge, drive growth, and strengthen the middle class.”


The basic eligibility requirements include:

  • A qualified architect from the EU and Canada shall be registered or licensed or otherwise recognized and is a member in good standing in their home jurisdiction and have completed a minimum of 12 years of education, training, and practice in the field of architecture, in one or more of the states, provinces or territories of their home jurisdiction, of which a minimum of four years shall be post-registration/licensure experience;
  • Proof of “Good Standing” in the home jurisdiction, as verified by the local regulatory authority;
  • Knowledge of the codes, laws, and other matters applicable to the practice of architecture in the host country;
  • Mobility across borders in the European Union and across provinces and territories in Canada and;
  • European architects seeking licensure in Canada must complete a 10-hour online course on Canadian domain-specific requirements in architecture.