According to a senior leader in the YSR Congress party, chief minister Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy might not completely abandon Amaravati as the capital city, but go in for a decentralized administrative set-up as recommended by Sivaramakrishnan committee.

K S Sivaramakrishnan, who retired as secretary of Urban Development and was chairman of the Centre for Policy Research in New Delhi, headed the five-member committee constituted by the Centre in March 2014 to suggest a new capital region for Andhra Pradesh post-bifurcation of the state.

The committee did not favour a single large capital city with concentration of legislature, judiciary and executive comprising numerous ministries, departments, commissionerates and directorates at one place as a feasible option.1

Instead, the committee divided the state into three regions, where capital functions and other institutions can be distributed: Visakhapatnam region, Rayalaseema Arc and Kalahasti – Nadikudi spine.

The committee recommended that various governmental offices, particularly those dealing with industry, manufacture, ports, shipping, petrochemical etc may be located in Visakhapatnam zone. “Additionally, there are also a number of technical institutions, including specialised institutions of high technology,” it said.

The Rayalaseema Arc, the committee suggests it can be developed as high capacity transport corridor, since it has Hyderabad-Kurnool-Anantapur-Bangalore highway which is part of the golden quadrilateral system and in future, it can be connected to Mumbai-Bangalore corridor.


  • 1. It also opposed building a capital city in the present location of Amaravati which falls in Vijayawada-Guntur-Tenali-Mangalagiri area as it will result in possible unplanned expansion of urban areas, besides destruction of fertile lands. It also warned of possible seismic threat to Amaravati region due to high water table in the area and said it might lead to severe problems of foundations and soil bearing capacities.